Bangladesh Experience

October 4th, 2015

Because so many bloggers are being hacked to death in Bangladesh, I think I will stop this blog for a while.

This entry was posted in Asia, Education, Empowering Women. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Bangladesh Experience

  1. Carol Sullivan says:

    This is a great site! You have such a wonderful way of describing the things you see and experience. You make it easy to visualize the things you are seeing. Good luck in your new adventure.

  2. Thanks for sharing this beautiful story Ian. I look forward to taking your new journey with you. All the best to you, I know you will capture the hearts of everyone around you just as you did in Afghanistan.

  3. Your artistic language speaks up purely wonderful and logically thoughtful. I love the smoothness and chronological movement of everything here. I Look forward to reading more from your journey in Bangladesh.

  4. Carol Sullivan says:

    Your Walt Whitman quote is a perfect description of YOU! You actually do something, where so many of us just dream about doing something.

  5. Rose Vines says:

    A wonderful post about Fatima and all the others at AUW. I’m so happy for you, Ian, to be in such an environment. And the Whitman is one of my favourite pieces. xxx

  6. pktietz says:

    Thanks for letting us join you on your journey at AUW. You seem to already be fully immersed in the life of the university. Your most recent post about the student discussion regarding primary Western vs. Eastern thinking reminded me of a quote by John Muir that I read earlier this week: “Most people are on the world, not in it– having no conscious sympathy or relationship to anything about them–undiffused separate, and rigidly alone like marbles of polished stone, touching but separate.” So often we create boundaries and don’t let others permeate them.

    Psychologist Barbara Fredrickson writing on the science of love wrote, “Love unfolds and reverberates between and among people — within interpersonal transactions — and thereby belongs to all parties involved, and to the metaphorical connective tissue that binds them together….” I appreciate that through your teaching you’re helping to develop in your students that permeable “connective tissue” that binds humanity together.

    • Your passion and calling is more than mist people can even fathom. The difference you make every day and the joy you bring to the oppressed must be fuel for hope. Thank you for following this destiny. Most if us might find a way to keep our status quo and give back in smaller ways. As a PHS grad, I am so proud to see what a powerful difference a unique guy from little Southbury could make.

  7. Tom P says:

    Ian,
    I’ve lost touch with you since you sang and talked to my students at the University of New Hampshire, and now have read your posts here. I am deeply humbled by who you are, who you have become, and what you are doing with your life. You are the rare man of wholeness, and now that I have turned 50, I can see more clearly the extraordinary beauty in you, and that has always been there. What you have given me just reading about your life, at this point in my life, is inestimable. It shows you can never predict where your light will go…
    Thanks Ian!
    Tom

Leave a Reply

